The Suffolks │28 previous / next │main map / suffolks map
33 Suffolk Parade (formerly 17)
The first tradesman recorded at this address is Mr Robert Bradshaw, a chemist and cupper, in 1847. He also had a chemists shop in the Bath Road. Still sometimes practiced today, cupping consists of applying a cup to the skin and inducing a negative pressure. It may also sometimes involve bleeding and was thought to assist in the removal of bad elements from the body.
Mr Bradshaw was followed a few years later by another chemist, Mr W. Hands but he also had left by the late 1850s. (Click on the image to the left to read about the range of pills he supplied.)
Then came a bootmaker called Stephen Schwamenkruge, who relocated his business here around 1860, although it had been founded 20 years earlier, and began a trade that was to last until at least 1930. Stephen was born in Cheltenham in about 1816 and lived here in 1861 with his wife Mary, and children Stephen, William and Mary Anne. He died on Boxing day 1891 and the business passed down to the younger son, William.
In 1922 the bootmaking business was acquired by Mr Walter Francis Batten, who carried on the trade here until the early 1930s. The shop then changed completely to become a long line of tobacconists & confectioners in the ownership of Mr Walter Henry Smith (1935), Mrs E.Workman (1945), Miss B. Gilliatt-Wintour (1950), Mr T.K. Spencer-Cox (1957) and Mrs S.M. Hayes during the 1960s and 1970s.
From about 1983 to 2005 these premises were the home of Tapestry Antiques and then became Studio 33, interior design. Today this is the home of Bodega Spa, offering an extensive range of health and beauty treatments.
Researcher: Stuart Manton (October 2016)
If you have any further information or photographs of this property please let us know via the contacts page.